Track Mouse Position

PennController for IBEX Forums Requests Track Mouse Position

Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author
    irenecg
    Participant

Hi Jeremy,

I’m fairly new to this world so I’m not sure whether it is a request or just a general support question but… Is there a way to track the position of the mouse (versus just recording when something is clicked)?

Best,

Irene

Jeremy
    Keymaster

Hi Irene,

Actually yes, there is a MouseTracker element in PCIbex, though it’s not officially documented. One concern with it is that it rapidly increases the size of the results file, as it reports a pair of numbers (the X and Y coordinates) every few milliseconds. Since you’re currently limited to 64MB on the PCIbex Farm, it practically imposes drastic limitations there.

I helped someone set up an experiment with the MouseTracker element on their own personal server and they were able to get good data, so if you are still interested and have access to a personal server, let me know and I can help you setting things up (it’s actually quite simple).

Jeremy

vale.pevi01
    Participant

Hi Jeremy,
    like Irene, I was wondering whether it is possible to track mouse position. If I understood correctly, the issue stands in the big amount of data that this tracking would generate. However, I’d be interested in getting the mouse coordinates at the mouse click (participant’s response). Is it possible / easier to be done?

Thank you a lot in advance!

Valeria

Jeremy
    Keymaster

Hi Valeria,

Yes, getting the mouse’s coordinates upon click is actually easy enough, but you should make sure it’s really what you want. Keep in mind that different participants will have pages of different heights and widths. If you consider checking the mouse’s coordinates upon click, ask yourself whether it wouldn’t make more sense to place multiple clickable elements on your page, e.g. in the form of transparent canvases.