Timing units

PennController for IBEX Forums Support Timing units

Tagged: 

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    ecanseco
    Participant

Hi, I am new to pcibex. Following your tutorial and after watching your recent Webinar, I managed to create a simple semantic priming study (200 trials). However, I want to confirm the time units for stimulus duration and for the reaction times. When I type newTimer(300), can I assume that this is exactly 300 msec? Also, when I subtract the EventTime of one event minus the EventTime of previous one, can I assume that the result is in milliseconds?

Thanks.

Enriqueta

Jeremy
    Keymaster

Hi Enriqueta,

Chances are it won’t be exactly 300ms, because performance varies with different hardware and software configurations. Timer elements periodically check the browser’s current timestamp, usually 60 times per second, generally matching the display refresh rate. So running a 300ms timer will effectively take between 300 and 316ms under normal circumstances.

Yes, the EventTime values are also expressed in milliseconds, and subtracting two of them will accordingly tell you how many milliseconds passed between the two reported events.

Jeremy

ecanseco
    Participant

Thanks a lot Jeremy, both for your prompt response and for the information provided.