Need help implementing an “abort trial” option for a SPR design

PennController for IBEX Forums Support Need help implementing an “abort trial” option for a SPR design

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    newebste
    Participant

Hello,

I am running a specific type of Self-Paced Reading experiment called SMS (“Stops Making Sense”), where trials proceed as simple self-paced reading, but with the option to “abort” the trial if they find the sentence really “bad”/”unacceptable”. I found another thread in this forum that talked about implementing an abort trial keypress for a different reason (re: loading media issues), and saw that one option could be to create a new command like this:

newKey(“Q”).callback( end() )

Unfortunately, I am a complete novice with IBEX and am not entirely sure how exactly to incorporate this into the code, and also, what it would look like in the results file. Ideally, I want to be able to see the word at which a participant decided to abort the trial, and the RT of all preceding words and the abort trial button press.

I have currently successfully set up the experiment to run as just the SPR design, using DashedSentence.

Any help would be appreciated! Apologies for my inexperience.

I will include my demonstration link here: https://farm.pcibex.net/r/FEXIqU/

Jeremy
    Keymaster

Hello,

Since you are using exclusively IBEX code, and no PennController code like the newKey you mention, it’s probably simpler to just edit the DashedSentence controller to add an abort key. Just edit the file DashedSentence.js from your project’s Modules folder:

1. Insert a new line between line 203 (}) and line 204 (else {) and paste this:

else if (code == 81) {
                        t.sprResults[t.currentWord-1][0] = time;
                        t.sprResults[t.currentWord-1][1] = t.previousTime;
                        t.processSprResults(t.currentWord);
                        t.finishedCallback(t.resultsLines);